Warning Warning: I am able to write to the configuration file: /usr/local/plesk/apache/vhosts/rosary-religious-inspirational-gifts.com/httpdocs/includes/configure.php. This is a potential security risk - please set the right user permissions on this file.
Shop our Online Catalog: Wood Rosaries

15 Decade Rosary Gaining in Popularity again

The 15 decade rosary is one of the most recognizable artifacts in Catholicism.  A structure of specifically ordered prayers, this concept is based on the setup of a traditionally rosary and is considered the fullest version of the prayer.  A rosary is set up in the following way.  At the base is the crucifix, then one bead and a break, followed by three beads and another break.  This is where the wreath of the rosary begins.  The wreath contains five sections of ten beads, separated by a single bead each, for a total of five “decades.” 

This structure is specifically designed to cover each of the mysterious Sacraments and a few carefully selected prayers.  One rosary will find you announcing five mysteries for every “decade” of beads.  There are three sets of mysteries, meaning that a 15 decade rosary has you reciting the collection of prayers from the rosary three times.  As you can imagine, this is quite time consuming, which is part of the principle, as praying an entire rosary is a meditative activity.  This is intended to help you focus on the sacraments and on establishing a relationship with God through Mary.

The prayers for the 15 decade rosary are very common to the Catholic faith.  This is the order in which they must be pronounced.  First, the cross signifies that you must do the sign of the cross.  The knot is for the Apostle’s Creed and the first bead is for the Lord’s Prayer which leads into three more beads.  Say one Hail Mary for each of the three beads and then finish with a Glory Be.  This is the preparation for mediation and where the wreath begins.  Announce the first mystery and say the Lord’s Prayer again and one Hail Mary for each of the ten beads that follow.  Continue this manner until you have completed the five mysteries and move onto the next five. 

The traditional Mysteries of a 15 decade rosary are designated as Joyful, Sorrowful, and Glorious.  The five Joyful Mysteries are the Annunciation, the Visitation, the Nativity, the Presentation, and the Finding in the Temple.  The Sorrowful Mysteries break down into the Agony, the Scourging, the Crowning, the Carrying of the Cross, and the Crucifixion.  The Glorious Mysteries are the Resurrection, the Ascension, the Descent of Holy Spirit, the Assumption, and the Coronation.  There is also an option fourth set of mysteries called the Luminous Mysteries which describe miracles that Jesus performed in his lifetime.

You can find different 15 decade rosary styles anywhere you will find Catholic materials, or at specialty retailers like Christian bookstores.   As with most merchandise these days, you will find a greater variety of products made from different textiles if you look on the internet. Online stores can offer a wider selection than most traditional stores with limited space and inventory.  Web retailers can also save you money and time since you can order from the comfort of your own home and have your merchandise shipped there too.

This article was published on Thursday 04 March, 2010.

Up a level: Rosary Beads
Related Topics:
  • Birthstone Rosary
  • Glass Rosary Beads
  • About The Rosary
  • Children's Rosaries
  • Men's Rosaries
  • Wall Rosaries

  • Back to main topic: Wooden Rosaries
    Wooden Beaded Rosaries
    History of a 15 Decade Rosary
    Wooden Rosaries for Men
    Franciscan Rosary Provides Unique Rosary
    Corded Rosaries

    Current Reviews: 0
    Write Review