Warning Warning: I am able to write to the configuration file: /usr/local/plesk/apache/vhosts/rosary-religious-inspirational-gifts.com/httpdocs/includes/configure.php. This is a potential security risk - please set the right user permissions on this file.
Shop our Online Catalog: Miraculous Medals

Who Is Immaculate Heart of Mary

Many Catholic and other religious Christian individuals today may have heard the terms “Immaculate Heart of Mary.” While it is not commonly said in daily conversation or recognized by all Christian or Catholic churches, the terms may be familiar to some. If you are familiar to the many terms that are associated or referred to the Blessed Virgin Mary you may or may not understand the importance of this term or what it means. This term is generally used symbolically rather than literally in the Catholic and other Christian religions. It serves as a form of representation of the character that Mary was and is said to be.

The Immaculate Heart of Mary was once referred to as the Sacred Heart of Mary. The Blessed Virgin Mary is an important religious figure of Christian religions because she gave birth to God’s only son, Christ. These terms are used to refer to the interior life of Mary and the life that she chose to live and lead. It also refers to the joys and sorrows within her life, as well as her virtues, her hidden perfections, her virginal love for God, her maternal love for her son, Jesus Christ, and her compassion and love for all people.

The Immaculate Heart of Mary, Mary’s interior life and the beauty of her soul, disregarding her physical heart, is not traditionally considered to constitute traditional devotion. Under consideration, the physical heart of Mary’s virginal body consists less. It was not until 1855 that the “Mass of the Most Pure Heart” became a formal practice in the Catholic Church. The two elements are imperative to the devotion of the Immaculate Heart just as Roman Catholic theology states both soul and body are essential to the constitution of man. Eastern Catholics however do not generally recognize the devotion, theology, or image that is associated with the Immaculate Heart of the Virgin Mary.

The Immaculate Heart of Mary, or rather Mary’s Heart, is generally and traditionally pierced with seven swords or wounds to signify the Virgin Mary’s seven sorrows, also known as the seven dolors of Mary. Seven Hail Marys are accordingly said daily in honor of devotion. In addition, flowers such as roses or another kind of flower are wrapped around the heart in devotion and honor. The devotion to the heart of the Virgin Mary is connected variously with the heart of Jesus Christ, the son of God she bore.

While not all forms of Catholicism or Christianity honor or devote prayer and honor to the Immaculate Heart of Mary, Mary’s heart is an important symbol and representation in Catholicism and other Christian religions. Mary’s heart is important because it represents her love for all people, her love for God and her son, the interior life she led, her compassion, her joys and sorrows, her hidden perfections, and her virtues. This devotion was once referred to as the Sacred Heart of Mary in consideration of her interior life and beautiful soul. The Blessed Virgin Mary is the symbol of love, devotion, and prayer.

This article was published on Thursday 09 June, 2011.

Up a level: Religious Jewelry
Related Topics:
  • Patron Saint Medals
  • Crosses
  • Crucifix

  • Back to main topic: Miraculous Medals
    History of Gold Miraculous Medals
    Medal Use in the Early Church And Today
    Miraculous Medal Gift From Mary

    Current Reviews: 0
    Write Review